Open Your Mind To Accept And Build

Sticks Author: Jesse

Going to the Second City performance was a great chance to watch some masters at this craft work. There was one skit that particularly tickled me. It starts off innocently enough with two actors mentioning to each other how whenever you go home, people treat you differently. It’s an offhand comment said in an “of course we all deal with this” kind of way. When the other actors proceed to interact with the pair, they act as if the first character as is an old black woman (he’s a younger white man).  The absurdity is accepted and built upon, with each new character adding to the reality that when at home, this man is Miss Shirley, the old black woman.

Thinking about this performance, I realized how much I still have to learn about the premise of accept and build. I always thought I accepted and built, but the skit made me realize how much I was missing. I think, had I been confronted with the reality in the Miss Shirley scene, I would have latched onto the idea that “people treat me differently at home”.  Had I gone up 2nd, I would have followed up the reality that he’s an old black woman with a different reality – perhaps he is an old Asian man.  Before analyzing this, I would have argued that I was accepting the initial reality that people treat him differently at home.  If this had happened, an amazing scene would have been missed.

Last rehearsal Chris B and Chris M did a fun scene with secret agents who eventually go rogue in an attempt to take over the world. They carry with them a ridiculous device that they claim gives them more power than anything in the world. The device is silly and we all had a lot of fun with its naughtiness, but I look back and realize that I missed a chance to accept and build. I accepted the reality that the device was powerful, but I did so silently.  The reality which was presented was that this was the most powerful device in the world. I could have built on that. Instead I worked around it, never denying it, but never embracing that fact and making it bigger. I want to spend the next couple of rehearsals focusing on that simple and most basic fact.

Accept and build, is always accept first and silence is not  mute acceptance.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I am glad to see people getting together and working in an unconventional place. I hope you keep at it. I know what it is like to be creative and in the sticks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

