Structure And Jokes

Sticks Author: Thom

I never knew learning Improv comedy could be so much fun, but also so much work.  It has been an intimidating process.  We have all seen Improv or sketch comedy on TV and thought “that looks so easy, I can do that”. I don’t think people understand how much structure is contained within the Improv setting.  Beat 1, Beat 2, call-backs, etc.  You can really get bogged down in the structure and forget that it is still a free-form comedy style.

For me personally, the toughest thing to learn has been the ability to hold off on the one-liners (which although may be funny, can sometimes kill the scene) and try to work on the characters, and the context of the scene.  I am a work in progress, but I can tell you I am having such a great time learning.  This project will only be successful if we care about and trust the other acting partners, and that care and trust is certainly there with “The Sticks”.  This is going to be a very fun ride!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Chris

     /  January 7, 2011

    I hear that. Coming from more traditional theater experiences, I was quite convinced that would no trouble establishing relationships and being in the moment, but get me up there and if people aren’t immediately laughing it’s all I can do to keep my pants on.

    Reply
    • kcord23

       /  January 8, 2011

      I thought of a bunch of things I should have done during the scene game we did but it was too late. I’m sure this is normal but I was kicking myself, thinking if I’d only said that “the midget needed to bring the vibrating chairs to do the show in the bathroom at GE Capital” That would have led to more closure for the game and easier for Jess and Jen who ended the scene. Oh well, next time I will be more aware. Can I say midget in this blog? People reading this who weren’t there are going to think we are playing some strange games at improv.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

